a thankful heart

I don’t need anything.  Not. Another. Thing.  My life is full of God’s blessings and goodness.  And, the things of which I should desire more are already made available to me.

Joy – You make known to me the path of life; in your presence there is fullness of joy; at your right hand are pleasures forevermore. Psalm 16:11

Peace – Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid. John 14:27

Love – For God so loved the world that he gave is only begotten Son that whosoever believes on Him should not parish but have everlasting life.  John 3:16

Goodness – Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life, and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord forever. Psalm 23:6

Self-control – No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it.  1 Corinthians 10:13

This year my family kept a blessing jar.  Each time we recognized God’s goodness we wrote it down on a scrap of paper and stuffed it into a jar.  Today we will look at all those little scraps of paper.  We will recount God’s goodness and faithfulness in our lives.  We will celebrate His awesome favor in our daily lives.  My heart is full when I begin to recount His goodness.  I have received much more than I deserve.

Even in my thankfulness, I see the gifts that I haven’t taken hold of fully.  I desire that these gifts be more present in my life.  I want them to ooze out of me that people will see less of who I am and more of Christ.

If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him!  Matthew 7:11

Amen.

Be Encouraged,

Kelly

© Project Encourage Mom 2014 All Rights Reserved

Project Encourage Mom Logo