You are My Treasure

Today, I am joined by a wonderful woman, Lucitta Cummings.  I went to high school and college with her husband, and had the privilege of meeting her at a high school reunion.  Over the years we have followed each other on social media, and I have always been encouraged by her words of wisdom and her dedication to her family.  I am glad that she agreed to join us today.

Lucitta Cummings currently works as a Real Estate Owned Coordinator for Safeguard Properties. She truly misses being a stay at home mom and is looking forward to getting back there soon. Lucitta is the wife of Rawle Cummings and the mother of three little kings, Immanuel (9), Gabriel (7), and JoEl (5). She is an active member in her local church as a songstress and passionate about spreading the gospel thru song. Lucitta enjoys the marriage ministry and she loves LOVE & still believes in chivalry and romance. “Don’t let your romance bonfire lull to a few glowing embers over the years, but add new logs to that blaze every day.”

you are my treasure

February is known for two themes, Black History and love. Often times, we say God is love. That’s what the Word says in 1 John 4:8, but what does it really mean? How does God make it tangible? I believe we all have different love languages and give and receive love in different ways. I was reflecting on how God shows us how much He loves us through others.  There is a certain occasion that is particularly outstanding.

I was a stay at home mother and was expecting our third child. My husband traveled about 50-60% with work at that time. It was the month of February, and he had to travel to Italy for an entire week. I wasn’t a happy camper. Why did it have to be Italy of all places? Italy is known for its romantic environment, food and ambiance. I had two children in tow and in my third trimester and there was no way I would be able to join him.  I was so disappointed that he wouldn’t be here for Valentine’s Day, but what’s a girl to do. The man has to work. So I sucked it up and bid him a good journey.

Well to my surprise, he had plans for me while away. He wanted me to feel loved and cared for even though he wouldn’t be here at home.  He left me with an envelope and asked that I not open it until he arrived in Italy. I received a call after a 12 hour journey. He finally arrived safely in love land.  Now I was permitted to open the letter.  I thought it was a love letter, but it was a homemade computer printed card that read….I’m piping hot this time of year, from roast to cookies, cakes and pies, turn me on and watch the temperature rise. What am I? _ _ _ _ you guessed it. OVEN…I ran to the oven and there was a gift for me. I was so excited. I remember screaming and yelling, “Thank you daddy!” My husband had planned a scavenger hunt for me during the week of Valentine’s Day. Every day I had clues that led me to the next gift and the clue for the next day and so on and so forth. I didn’t have time to be sad or down.  I woke up anticipating the day because I would discover another precious and thoughtful gift designed with me in mind.  Now the other clues were not as easy and I was seeking and searching and digging trying to discover everything all at once.  See my husband isn’t designed that way, he enjoys the journey much more than the destination.

I often say that the relationship between my husband and I parallels my relationship with Christ. One reason is because we are in an ever learning journey in marriage, and a ever learning Christian journey, as well.  There was a lot of self sacrificing done on my hubby’s part to prepare for me while he was away, and so it is with Christ. He has also left for me a treasure in His Word. It is because I seek God’s Word and believe His Word and stand on His Word, my soul can be satisfied.  The Bible says that those who find God as their sole treasure will be a treasure unto Him: “And they shall be Mine, saith the Lord of hosts, in that day when I make up My jewels” Malachi 3:17.

You are God’s treasure. As you draw closer to God, you will find that you become more and more like Him. And if we approach the Word of God like a hidden treasure, we gain access to the knowledge or riches of God. Isaiah 45:3 says, “And I will give thee the treasures of darkness, and hidden riches of secret places.  That’s a powerful Word. God wants to share His secrets with us. I treasure Christ and every precious gift He has blessed me with. I know without a shadow of a doubt that He loves me, and He treasures me because His Word says so. Praise God!

Lucitta Cummings

© Project Encourage Mom 2013
All Rights Reserved

2 thoughts on “You are My Treasure

  1. Loved this post! Regardless of what our love lives may look like, we are treasured and loved by our Heavenly Father. He loves us with an unconditional and everlasting love. Be blessed today and find a way to bless someone else!

Comments are closed.